Nail art designs

Matte & Metallic

Hello again everyone! Good to see you on my blog!

Today we are going to talk about this year’s nail art trend – metallic nails! As you already know, I don’t personally use gel nail polishes, therefore it’s practically impossible (unfortunatlly) for me to recreate any of those stunning metallic/holo/rainbow looks. I watched many YouTube videos on how to do mirrored nails without using UV lamp and gel polish + gel top coat, and each one of them was a fail. Apparently you definitely need to use those, otherwise your manicure won’t last long. The only possible solution is to find good water based top coat which won’t smear mirror look, but even with it your nail design won’t last longer than a 2 days.

Pretty disappointing news, ha? Well guess what! I’ve got you covered! You probably already know that all big brands now have metallic shades in their collections (if you wanna see my favorite, please click here). Of course, regular nail polish won’t give you that stunning mirror effect, but at least we can try to do something similar. In today’s post I will be showing you my absolutely favorite metallic nail polish for this season and how you can actually combine matte and metallic look in order to archieve fantastic nail art design!

The metallic nail polish I will be using is by Essence – Turn Up The Volume. It’s a beautiful, creamy, formula that gives you that much wanted metallic look already after applying the first coat. For now I will show you only the combination of this and the black nail polish, but in a few days you will be able to see more photos of the actual swatch.

First things you have to do is to paint your nails black. After that apply your favorite matte top coat. Here I was using Aura’s. Then, using your dotting tool or even a thin nail art brush (which I would highly recommend), start drawing metallic drops and create that beautiful dripping illusion on your nails. Once when you are done with it, apply fast drying top coat ONLY on metallic parts, because we don’t want to ruin out matte base!

1476443066574.jpgwp-1476874195087.jpegwp-1476874181239.jpegwp-1476874174763.jpegwp-1476874187253.jpeg

And that’s really it! I think that the final result is amazing, this matte and metallic combination looks so elegant on nails, plus it’s very trendy. Of course, you can play however you want and combine other colours, although I have to say that black base is the best.

I really hope that you liked this manicure! If you would like to give it a try, please don’t forget to tag me on Instagram @nailartmuse so I can see and repost your work! Thanks so much for following my blog and reading my posts!

XoXo,

logo

2 thoughts on “Matte & Metallic

Leave a Reply

