Nail art designs

Hindu spring festival of color!

Hello everyone and welcome back to my blog!

Today we are doing one very cute and interesting manicure, surely one of the best I’ve ever done! Thanks to this month’s nail art challenge on Instagram I decided to make a beautiful, colorful design in honor of Indian festival of color – Holi! If you don’t know much about this manifestation, let me teach you!

7bd626509c304c0e9cd62dc3251be07e_8Holi is a Hindu spring festival in India and Nepal, also known as the “festival of colours” or the “festival of love”. The festival signifies the victory of good over evil, the arrival of spring, end of winter, and for many a festive day to meet others, play and laugh, forget and forgive, and repair broken relationships, and is also celebrated as a thanksgiving for a good harvest. It lasts for two days starting on the Purnima (Full Moon day) falling in the Bikram Sambat Hindu Calendar month of Falgun, which falls somewhere between the end of February and the middle of March in the Gregorian calendar. The first day is known as Holika Dahan (हॊलिका दहन) or Chhoti Holi and the second as Rangwali Holi, Dhuleti, Dhulandi or Dhulivandan.

holi

The Holi festival has a cultural significance among various Hindu traditions of the Indian subcontinent. It is the festive day to end and rid oneself of past errors, to end conflicts by meeting others, a day to forget and forgive. People pay or forgive debts, as well as deal anew with those in their lives. Holi also marks the start of spring, for many the start of the new year, an occasion for people to enjoy the changing seasons and make new friends. 

(Source: Wikipedia)

I really liked this festival and the legend behind it, so it was a huge pleasure for me to create cheerful manicure in honor of this amazing manifestation!

This time, as always, I used white nail polish as base for my colorful design. Once when that was dry, I took few of my most beautiful pastel shades and mixed them with just a few drops of nail polish remover (acetone works too)! This is a very important step since nail polish remover will thin polishes and make them more watery, which is perfect for layering! Once when I mixed those two, I started adding few blobs of each color on my nails. Extra tip: if you’re not completely satisfied with your look, you can always add few more drops of nail polish remover/acetone on your design and colors will definitely come together! After this step, we are suppose to apply top coat. Most of you will probably use glossy one in order to highlight colorful design, but I decided to use matte instead, and now I will tell you why! Matte colorful base seemed to be perfect for few silver thin lines over the entire manicure! That way I kinda created a marble effect and combined glossy metallic with matte once again! This is how everything turned out:

1489150397333.jpg89327431421.jpg489327272873.jpg489327140854.jpg489327083816o.jpgimg_20170310_134742_828.jpg

Pretty cute, am I right?! Also very girly, festive, great for Holi and spring!

I really hope you will like this Holi manicure! If you do, please let me know down in comments! Thanks for stopping by & I’ll see you very soon!

XoXo,

logo

6 thoughts on “Hindu spring festival of color!

    1. Awww thank you so much! I’m glad you like it! And I kinda guessed you’re Indian 😀 Is your name inspired by Maitrey Devi? 🙂 I might be wrong, but that name reminds me of one book by Mircea Eliade 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hehe yeah… I’ve always wanted to res that one 😂😁
        Thank you so much😊
        P.s. love your art😍😍 keep doing your work.. it’s amazing.. take care 😊😊😄💟

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

